Niagara Gazette

Opinion

June 30, 2013

GLYNN: Wallenda eyes skyscraper walk

Niagara Gazette — One of the intriguing questions about Nik Wallenda is where he’ll eventually land.

That’s not to suggest any fall from a future high wire performance after his success, first crossing over the Horseshoe Falls and then, last weekend, near the Grand Canyon. Instead, it’s where he may decide to locate some attraction (e.g., a museum or a training and performance center) in Niagara Falls. Listen to state Sen. George D. Maziarz, R-Newfane, and there’s no doubt that Wallenda will opt for a place in this city’s South End, perhaps within walking distance of the nation’s oldest state park. 

Meanwhile it is common knowledge that Niagara Falls, Ont., Mayor Jim Diodati and tourism leaders in that city would gladly welcome another attraction with Wallenda as the headliner. Although he has reportedly talked with some officials on the Ontario side — no specifics dislosed — Wallenda is firmly committed to Niagara Falls, N.Y., Maziarz contends.

Regardless which side Wallenda chooses — if he ever does — Diodati is convinced it will prove a solid boost to tourism. Still the mayor couldn’t resist mentioning that our sister city across the border has some 16,000 hotel rooms, almost triple here. (For the record, several new or refurbished hotel projects  are on this city’s drawing boards.)

“It would be great to have a ‘kind of ‘permanent seasonal’ attraction,” Diodati said, noting that it would undoubtedly have widespread appeal like the famous Cirque du Soliel, an international group of circus acts, acrobatics and entertainment that originated in Canada. Formed in 1984, it has expanded to shows in more than 40 countries.

In an interview Friday, “Capital Tonight” (YNN-TV) anchor Liz Benjamin wondered how Mazariz, who had attended the event on the Navajo Reservation in Arizona, could even watch the walk without getting nervous.” You could have been witness to something really awful — potentially,” Benjamin added. The senator explained that Wallenda had full confidence that he would be successful. About two hours before the walk was to start, Maziarz stepped outside his hotel and spotted Wallenda pitching horseshoes with his (crew) team. “That how’s calm he was. If that was me, I would have been at Mass, on my knees and saying the rosary,” Maziarz quipped.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page