Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 27, 2012

LETTERS TO THE ISLAND: Riding the rails to Toronto

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Travelers — Cue the Monkees. The last train to Oakville has left the station. No more reservations. Actually, there never were.

One of the Niagara Frontier’s best-kept travel secrets, Via Rail’s commuter train to Toronto from the statuesque Whirlpool Station on the Canadian side, has gone the way of the buggy and the easy airport check-in.

In its later years, Via named it The General Brock. It departed just after reveille and reported to Toronto Union in time for most to start their workday. After a photogenic crossing of Twenty Creek, an eye-popping swing around Hamilton Bay, and a last pause at Oakville, its rolling panorama offered the guilty pleasure of cruising at 90 kilometers per past jammed traffic on the Gardiner and the “Q,” with Lake Ontario glimmering in the background.

Three years ago Doug treated his golf clubs to a ride on The Brock, playing two Toronto courses via only bus and subway and returning at twilight, seatmating a physical trainer from Burlington.

Another time Doug’s excursioning railroad club transferred from The Brock to Canada’s Northlander on an adjacent track. Clambering down and out of one car and up and into the other, we looked like a squadron of ants changing jelly doughnuts.

The same club made an annual Christmas-shopping daytrip to Toronto. While the exchange was more favorable then, the best gift of all was the companionship, particularly during the sleepy satisfaction of the return trip, the train dinging and hooting through the Peninsula grade crossings. One evening young hooligans pelted us with rocks. We all hoped it wound up in their stockings.

One train remains on the Route of the Brock, the late-afternoon Maple Leaf from New York, undependable because of the lengthy Customs check between our own Hyde Park-area station and the Whirlpool, and with a less convenient schedule even when it’s on time.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page