Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 27, 2012

LETTERS TO THE ISLAND: Riding the rails to Toronto

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Travelers — Cue the Monkees. The last train to Oakville has left the station. No more reservations. Actually, there never were.

One of the Niagara Frontier’s best-kept travel secrets, Via Rail’s commuter train to Toronto from the statuesque Whirlpool Station on the Canadian side, has gone the way of the buggy and the easy airport check-in.

In its later years, Via named it The General Brock. It departed just after reveille and reported to Toronto Union in time for most to start their workday. After a photogenic crossing of Twenty Creek, an eye-popping swing around Hamilton Bay, and a last pause at Oakville, its rolling panorama offered the guilty pleasure of cruising at 90 kilometers per past jammed traffic on the Gardiner and the “Q,” with Lake Ontario glimmering in the background.

Three years ago Doug treated his golf clubs to a ride on The Brock, playing two Toronto courses via only bus and subway and returning at twilight, seatmating a physical trainer from Burlington.

Another time Doug’s excursioning railroad club transferred from The Brock to Canada’s Northlander on an adjacent track. Clambering down and out of one car and up and into the other, we looked like a squadron of ants changing jelly doughnuts.

The same club made an annual Christmas-shopping daytrip to Toronto. While the exchange was more favorable then, the best gift of all was the companionship, particularly during the sleepy satisfaction of the return trip, the train dinging and hooting through the Peninsula grade crossings. One evening young hooligans pelted us with rocks. We all hoped it wound up in their stockings.

One train remains on the Route of the Brock, the late-afternoon Maple Leaf from New York, undependable because of the lengthy Customs check between our own Hyde Park-area station and the Whirlpool, and with a less convenient schedule even when it’s on time.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page