Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 27, 2013

GLYNN: $350 check will bounce up for the '14 election

Niagara Gazette — Talk about political gimmicks!

Look no further than the bill state lawmakers have put in the hopper to provide a $350 check to nearly one million families in 2014, just three weeks prior to Election Day.

Many people apparently think they’ll receive it this year — the state gave that impression when it was first announced — but that’s not going to happen. 

Under the guidelines, the checks will be mailed to families that have at least one child under age 18 and have gross adjusted incomes between $40,000 and $300,000. The checks will be sent for three years at a cost of $375 million a year.

As Karen DeWitt, the Albany bureau chief for National Public Radio, cautions: “You should know they’re planning to pay for that by raising other taxes on the wealthy and, of course, the utility tax surcharge.”

Ken Lovett of the New York Post also sees its true worth: “The check won’t have (on the face) ‘Vote for Andrew Cuomo and Your State Lawmaker but it might just as well.’ Or will it be touted as tax relief and money you can spend? No one’s going to say that.”

Anyway you cut it, it’s abundantly clear the money is targeted to a certain segment of the population. For instance, those who won’t receive the checks include the elderly, people without children and those with children over age 18 (college age) who could use it, if only to buy textbooks for a couple of semesters.

It all seems like a weak effort to redistribute the wealth, to take money from the rich and spread it to others. Sounds like something the flamboyant former Gov. Huey (The Kingfish) Long of Louisiana promised in return for votes. He also was known for his “Share Our Wealth” program.

PAYING THE TAB: So often we hear about the positive impact of a film being shot in the area. If big stars are in the cast, it will undoubtedly draw crowds, generate dollars for the local economy and even promote the city or town as a place to visit. Those are major factors for giving tax credits to film producers shooting in New York state. That tax credit — set to expire next year — has been extended for 10 years although it’s been changed to include talk shows and variety programs that relocate to New York. The show must be taped in front of an audience of least 200 people, it must have a $30 million annual production budget with $10 million in renovation capital costs. As Lovett notes, it sounds like the tax credit bill was re-written precisely for relocating the “Tonight Show” to the Big Apple where, incidentally, NBC is building a new studio for Leno’s successor. Just another item handed off for the taxpayers to cover. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Opinion sig GUEST VIEW: How the military operation in Gaza should be finished

    Shortly the nations of the world will increase their efforts to bridge the gap between Israel and the Hamas terrorist organization in order to bring about a cease-fire and to stop military maneuvers through political channels.    

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Imperfect information and the political toilet seat Sometimes, in the multiple choices of life, the answer is quite simply 'E', "Not enough information to draw a conclusion."

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Police need to move past use of 'negro' The Lockport Police Department raised some eyebrows this week after posting a question on its Facebook page about the use of the word "negro" to describe suspects.

    August 1, 2014

  • GUEST VIEW: Stop the violence by giving kids something to do A reason for all of the shootings that have plagued our city is because our kids have nothing to do. We have taken away all the basketball courts throughout the city.

    August 1, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page