Niagara Gazette

Opinion

August 2, 2013

GUEST VIEW: The Hamister hotel project - by the numbers

Niagara Gazette — Numbers don’t lie. A new job-creating, tax-producing development is being jeopardized in Niagara Falls. This is the same information I presented at the last city council meeting, not because I am running for re-election, but because it’s my job to focus on the facts.

The city council majority, made of Councilmen Glenn Choolokian, Sam Fruscione and Robert Anderson, voted to table the sale of 310 Rainbow Blvd. to the Hamister Group twice in July. The Hamister Group wants to create the first privately funded downtown mixed-use development in a generation. The project has not changed since the city council unanimously selected the Hamister Group as the preferred developer in 2012. Now, misinformation is spreading and that is unacceptable. So here is the 310 Rainbow Blvd. Project by the numbers:

• $25.3 million: The total project cost for the project, including a 114-room hotel, 24 apartments and up to 5,000 square feet of ground-floor retail space.

 55: Estimated construction jobs created.

• 23: Full-time equivalent – estimated permanent jobs created after constructions.

• $0: Amount of cash being requested from the city of Niagara Falls. The Hamister Group is privately funding 90 percent of the project cost, and working with Empire State Development and the Niagara County IDA for their assistance, not the city’s.

• $100,000: The city’s sale price of the land. The lot is officially assessed at $215,800 and was last sold for $145,000 in 2001. The highest bid received during last year’s procurement process was for the assessed value, but it requested city incentives that we disagreed with. Any multi-million dollar “estimates” are being misinterpreted. Also, if so many “business people” are willing to pay top dollar, where have they been over the last four decades?

• 27 years: Time this land sat undeveloped between 1981 and 2013. It is the painful reminder of Urban Renewal’s failure. It was gifted to the city as part of the Niagara Falls Culinary Institute project, and I want it developed. The sale of the property is the city’s part of the Hamister agreement. The council majority understood that idea all along. At the Feb. 22, 2012, council meeting, Choolokian asked (word-for-word), “Are we still on track that this is going to cost the city of Niagara Falls no money involved other than giving you guys the land?” The answer now, as it was then, is yes. Not only are we not contributing money, we are selling the property for profit, not giving it away.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page