Niagara Gazette

Opinion

August 2, 2013

GUEST VIEW: The Hamister hotel project - by the numbers

Niagara Gazette — Numbers don’t lie. A new job-creating, tax-producing development is being jeopardized in Niagara Falls. This is the same information I presented at the last city council meeting, not because I am running for re-election, but because it’s my job to focus on the facts.

The city council majority, made of Councilmen Glenn Choolokian, Sam Fruscione and Robert Anderson, voted to table the sale of 310 Rainbow Blvd. to the Hamister Group twice in July. The Hamister Group wants to create the first privately funded downtown mixed-use development in a generation. The project has not changed since the city council unanimously selected the Hamister Group as the preferred developer in 2012. Now, misinformation is spreading and that is unacceptable. So here is the 310 Rainbow Blvd. Project by the numbers:

• $25.3 million: The total project cost for the project, including a 114-room hotel, 24 apartments and up to 5,000 square feet of ground-floor retail space.

 55: Estimated construction jobs created.

• 23: Full-time equivalent – estimated permanent jobs created after constructions.

• $0: Amount of cash being requested from the city of Niagara Falls. The Hamister Group is privately funding 90 percent of the project cost, and working with Empire State Development and the Niagara County IDA for their assistance, not the city’s.

• $100,000: The city’s sale price of the land. The lot is officially assessed at $215,800 and was last sold for $145,000 in 2001. The highest bid received during last year’s procurement process was for the assessed value, but it requested city incentives that we disagreed with. Any multi-million dollar “estimates” are being misinterpreted. Also, if so many “business people” are willing to pay top dollar, where have they been over the last four decades?

• 27 years: Time this land sat undeveloped between 1981 and 2013. It is the painful reminder of Urban Renewal’s failure. It was gifted to the city as part of the Niagara Falls Culinary Institute project, and I want it developed. The sale of the property is the city’s part of the Hamister agreement. The council majority understood that idea all along. At the Feb. 22, 2012, council meeting, Choolokian asked (word-for-word), “Are we still on track that this is going to cost the city of Niagara Falls no money involved other than giving you guys the land?” The answer now, as it was then, is yes. Not only are we not contributing money, we are selling the property for profit, not giving it away.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Chronicling crime on the 'Island' Why is Rick Pfeiffer never around when you need him? The guy whose cubicle we shared during the Koop-Jasen-Rice era at Channel 4 now carefully chronicles criminals for the Gazette, notably those a few flakes short of Raisin Bran, but his crime wave is a mere ripple compared to ours.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The mirrors of my grandfather's fingernails What we do or don't do will have a greater impact upon our grandchildren's futures than what you might think.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page