Niagara Gazette

Opinion

August 1, 2013

GLYNN: State lawmaker recalls dysfunction in Detroit

Niagara Gazette — State Assemblyman Bill Nojay, who represents the 133rd District in the Rochester area, has first-hand experience of the dysfunction that left Detroit in deplorable conditions.

The new lawmaker served as chief operating officer of the Detroit Department of Transportation before his election to the Assembly last year.

As you know, the Niagara Falls City Council’s majority is sometimes chastised for its obstructionism. The Detroit City Council is much worse. Assemblyman Nojay recalls that during his tenure in the DOT post, 10 percent of the bus-fare collection boxes were broken. In any other municipality, that would simply be a matter of awarding a contract . Instead, the council blasted Nojay and his staff for ignoring the fare-box problem since the Motor City was losing about $5 million every year by not collecting fares. It turned out the contract to fix the fare boxes had been sitting on a desk in the City Council office for nine months

In an recent Opinion Page article for the Wall Street Journal, Nojay recounted he once waited five hours to discuss a minor transportation problem while the Detroit City Council argued whether to approve the demolition of vacant and vandalized houses — one by one. At last count, Detroit had more than 40,000 vacant houses.

Nojay is staunchly opposed to a government bailout for Detroit. He said: “What it needs is to sweep away a city charter that protects only bureaucrats, civil-service rules that straight-jacket municipal departments, and obsolete union contracts.” Sounds like a sensible step forward.

•••

FISCAL CRISIS: A major factor for many financially-strapped cities is “spiking,” the practice of public employees jacking up their final year salary (e.g., working overtime, or perhaps cashing in unused holiday time) to inflate the base upon which their pensions are determined. A classic abuse of that practice is Marty Robinson, the female chief executive of Ventura County in California. According to a recent report in the Economist, Robinson, who was earning $228,000, cashed in $69,000 of unused holidays and other benefits to retire with a yearly pension of $272,000. But it’s happening all over — not just in California. In Illinois, the General Assembly Retirement System provides for nearly 300 ex-state lawmakers, About 10 percent of those receive annual pensions exceeding $100,000. There are more than a few such cases in Albany  too.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Opinion sig GUEST VIEW: How the military operation in Gaza should be finished

    Shortly the nations of the world will increase their efforts to bridge the gap between Israel and the Hamas terrorist organization in order to bring about a cease-fire and to stop military maneuvers through political channels.    

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Imperfect information and the political toilet seat Sometimes, in the multiple choices of life, the answer is quite simply 'E', "Not enough information to draw a conclusion."

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Police need to move past use of 'negro' The Lockport Police Department raised some eyebrows this week after posting a question on its Facebook page about the use of the word "negro" to describe suspects.

    August 1, 2014

  • GUEST VIEW: Stop the violence by giving kids something to do A reason for all of the shootings that have plagued our city is because our kids have nothing to do. We have taken away all the basketball courts throughout the city.

    August 1, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page