Niagara Gazette

October 15, 2012

Local World War II vets taking the Hero Flight

Niagara Gazette

Niagara Gazette — Nicholas Miniccuci Sr. of Lewiston will be among the 27 World War II veterans who are scheduled to  take part in “Honor Flight” to Washington, D.C. on Wednesday.

The program, which is co-sponsored by Sen. George Maziarz, allows veterans to travel to Washington D.C. and visit the World War II Memorial. Many of those veterans are in need of a wheelchair in order to fully enjoy the day’s festivities.

Minicucci, 87, served in the infantry with the Panther Division in France and England  Army, 

“When Senator Maziarz contacted me, I immediately thought of my father” explained Health System Services President Robert Minicucci. “The fact that he is a WWII vet himself made the donation of these wheelchairs that much more meaningful."

Health System Services has agreed to provide wheelchairs to every veteran who may need one during their trip. Each veteran is accompanied by a “guardian” who will assist them during travel, including use of their wheelchair in the airport and throughout the day.

Maziarz stated, "Our goal on this trip is to make sure our WWII vets come away with a memorable and rewarding experience.  They deserve to see their memorial and this generous loan of wheelchairs from HSS removes the worry some veterans may have had about traveling."

The veterans will meet at the Buffalo Niagara International Airport at 6 a.m. on Wednesday and return at 11 p.m. the same day.

HERO FLIGHT Niagara County's World War II vets taking the flight Harvey Albond, Niagara Falls Anthony Boccanera, Wheatfield Ron Brown Sr., Lewiston Silviu Dan Sr., North Tonawanda Jim DiBernardo, North Tonawanda Richard Duerr, North Tonawanda Cosmo Fratello, Niagara Falls Richard Hempel, North Tonawanda Carmen Mastro, Niagara Falls Stanley Maziarz, North Tonawanda Nicholas Miniccuci, Lewiston Lysle Newberry, Niagara Falls Richard Peace, Pendelton Clyde Peters, North Tonawanda Henry Pierangelino, Niagara Falls William Redemske, North Tonawanda Sarafino Saraf, Lockport Joseph Siemiele, Wheatfield Stephen Siuta, Sanborn Victor Stopa, Ransomville Arthur Walters, North Tonawanda Miron Wasik, Lockport