Niagara Gazette

May 14, 2014

Phi Delta Kappa awards ceremony set for Wednesday

Staff reports
Niagara Gazette

Niagara Gazette — The annual Phi Delta Kappa Past Presidents' Awards banquet will be held today at the Niagara Falls Country Club, Mountain View Drive in Lewiston. The reception begins at 5:30 p.m. and dinner will be served at 6:30 p.m. The awards ceremony will follow dinner. Dinner costs $35 per person and reservations may be made by contacting Dr. Barbara Ianarelli at 

Dr. Walter S. Polka, president of the Buffalo-Niagara Chapter 0047 of Phi Delta Kappa International, announced the following 2014 presidential award winners:

Distinguished Higher Education Leadership Award: Dr. Gary D. Praetzel, dean, Niagara University College of Hospitality and Tourism Management;

Distinguished Career Award: Samuel Alessi, retired Buffal city school administrator;

Distinguished Elementary School Principal Award: Michael P. Tambroni, Ohio Elementary School, North Tonawanda City School District;

Distinguished Middle School Principal: Michael Cornell, Amherst Middle School, Amherst Central School District;

Distinguished High School Administrator Award: Joseph DiMaria, Starpoint High School, Starpoint Central School District;

Excellence in Elementary Teaching Award: Janelle Finn, Colonial Village Elementary School, Niagara-Wheatfield School District;

Excellence in Middle School Teaching Award: Beth Truax, Lewiston-Porter Middle School, Lewiston-Porter Central School District;

Excellence in High School Teaching Award: Edwin Maynard, Niagara Falls High School, Niagara Falls City School District;

School District of Excellence Award: Career Academies of the Kenmore-Town of Tonawanda Union Free School District.